MCE Timeline and The Andromeda Strain

After discussion with my buddy Jim at work he mentioned that Michael Crichton had written several books under pseudonym, at first I was all about including them in the MCE, but after some research I am not willing or able to pay the prices, some of them were upwards of 300 dollars, to get said books.  I actually found about 5 on Abebooks and I have ordered them, and keep an eye out for the others, with Anne doing most of the leg work, since she works at the library and deals with rare books and donations.

Works Published under a pseudonym
1966 – Odds On, as John Lange
1967 – Scratch One, as John Lange
1968 – Easy Go (also Titled The Last Tomb), as John Lange
A Case of Need (re-released as Crichton in 1993) as Jeffery Hudson
1969 – Zero Cool, as John Lange ( found and bought)
The Venom Business, as John Lange
1970 – Drug of Choice, as John Lange
Dealing, as Michael Douglas (With brother Douglas Crichton)
Grave Descend, as John Lange
1972 – Binary, as John Lange ( re-released as Crichton in 1993)

For Crichton’s lesser know works that were published under a pseudonym I will be finding those that I can, reading, and blogging about them.  But many of them are out of the price range I am willing to pay.  For example, the cheapest price I could find for his very first novel Odds On, published as John Lange, was $ 325 dollars.  Many others were in the $ 75 – 100 dollar price range and that is just too rich for my blood.  I found several of these books for an affordable price and have ordered them, but I will be focusing on his main works that were published as Michael Crichton.  The two novels that were re-released under Crichton in 1993 I will be reading once I chronologically reach that year.

I will be following the timeline below for my blog

1969 – The Andromeda Strain
-I picked up a first edition of the novel with a decent dust jacket, first printing as well for $20 with shipping.  I also bought the movie and the miniseries that were made based on the novel.  I thought there were two versions of the movie, but apparently they just put a new cover on the original and re-released it in 2003, so I bought 2 copies of the DVD like a boss.  I have already initiated the return of one of the DVDs, the one I haven’t received and opened yet of course.  I think I have read this novel before and I know the basic plot of it, but it has been a long time.  There are quite a few tidbits about every book from Michael Crichton’s Official Site (, including notes from Crichton himself.  So I will briefly discuss each of them in this timeline I am putting together for the Michael Crichton Experience.

The Andromeda Strain was written while MC was still in Harvard Medical School and because of the way it was written and the time period in which it was released many people thought that the book was true.  The Andromeda strain has had quite an impact on popular culture since its release and the term even became synonumous with whatever new disease was considered to be the next threat to mankind.  In Crichtons notes on the book from his official site he talks about how the idea for the book started with the title.  He thought The Andromeda Strain was a great title for a book but had no story to go along with it.  The idea for the story eventually came from a scholarly book called The Major Features of Evolution by George Gaylord Simspon.  There was a footnote in the book which said that no one had ever used the organisms that are in the upper atmosphere to make science fiction story.  Crichton accepted this challenge and rest is history.  I wont bore you with the rest of MC’s notes on the book you can go check them out yourself on his website, they are very interesting though and you should give them a read if the occasion strikes you.

My reading of The Andromeda Strain will commence once I finish the current book I am reading, IT, by Stephen King.  I will be watching the movie and mini-series based on The Andromeda Strain after I have finished reading the novel, and make one big post once they have all been read and watched.  The following is the order in which I will be reading and watching all things Crichton, I will post a copy of the Timeline on the Michael Crichton Experience page of my blog for your viewing pleasure.

1970 – 5 Patients The Hospital Explained (Non-Fiction)

1972 – The Terminal Man

1972 – Pursuit (Made for TV Movie)

1973 – WestWorld (Film)

1973 – Extreme Close up (Screenplay)

1975 – The Great Train Robbery

1976 – The Eaters of the Dead

1977 – Jasper Johns (Non-Fiction)

1978 – Coma (Film)

1980 – Congo

1981 – Looker (Film)

1983 – Electronic Life (Non- Fiction)

1984 – Runaway (Film)

1987 – Sphere

1988 – Travels (Non-Fiction)

1989 – Physical Evidence (Film)

1990 – Jurassic Park

1992 – Rising Sun

1993 – A Case of Need (Re-Released as Michael Crichton)

1993 – Binary (Re-Released as Michael Crichton)

1994 – Disclosure

1995 – The Lost World

1996- Airframe

1996 – Twister (Screenplay)

1999 – Timeline

2002 – Prey

2004 – State of Fear

2006 – Next

2009 – Pirate Latitudes

2011 – Micro (Unfinished) with Richard Preston

2 thoughts on “MCE Timeline and The Andromeda Strain

  1. elementbcs says:

    Sounds like a fun adventure! 🙂

  2. […] Here you can find his second post laying out some of the order. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s